Life didn’t go as planned

My entire life can be described in one sentence: It didn’t go as planned, and that’s ok…

At a young age, I had dreams of travelling the world, becoming a veterinarian, owning a dog kennel, helping others and living in a small ocean front cottage with family and friends only a phone call away. I never really wanted to get married but I did want kids. I wanted a simple life.

I am happy to say; none of those dreams or visions came true except for my beautiful daughter and a chance to help a few less fortunate folks along the way. Would I change anything? Yes and No.  My decisions, right or wrong, have lead me to a very different place. I am nowhere near the ocean, I live in the burbs close to the Rocky Mountains, I was married but now divorced, I have NOT travelled the world and my family is 5 hours away by plane.

My 20’s and 30’s are kind of a blur. There were many forks in the road and depending on which road I took the outcome would have been very different.  I must admit mental illness, shyness, lack of confidence, self-doubt, fear and my desire to just fit in and be accepted played a big part in those decisions.  Having said that, I do believe everything happens for a reason. I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog if I had a different journey.

In the last 6 months, I’ve done more doing, more planning, and more self-acceptance than I have ever done. So, as I sit here writing this post, I wonder what advise I’d offer my younger self:

  1. Love yourself for all that you are.
  2. Follow your intuition and listen to your gut.
  3. Notice the little things, as they are what matter in life.
  4. Do what makes you happy and smile.
  5. Enjoy the journey even with the bad.
  6. No more wishing I could do that. Make it happen.
  7. Change your negative self-talk to a positive tone. This is probably the hardest one given my history with Mental illness. Would this have changed my journey? Definitely.
  8. Be more present and in the moment.
  9. Don’t wait for the right moment.
  10. Be grateful.

In closing to my younger self, it’s never too late to make changes. Follow your heart, follow your intuition and your dreams…everything and everyone you meet along the way happens for a reason. Life is one big lesson….

Me

This entry was posted in depression, inspiration, introverted, Little things in life, Mental Illness, shy, Smile and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

