Practicing Gratitude

Gratitude, thankfulness, or appreciation is an emotion expressing appreciation for what one has-as opposed to what one wants.

I’ve heard over the years that writing in a journal 5 things that your grateful for during the day before bed can increase ones happiness. I have tried this practice over the years but it never really stuck. I wasn’t in the right mindset. It felt forced and being in and out of depression for the past 20 years it was very hard to see the positives in life. It was hard enough getting out of bed and caring on about my day.

Where am I going with this?  Well, I was in the bookstore the other day and felt compelled to buy this book called “The Magic” by Ronda Bryne. Call it instinct, a sign or a feeling but I went with it. The book consists of a 28-Day journey of practicing some form of gratitude, from being thankful for the health of your body, thankful for the money you currently have to pay bills to being thankful for the best thing that happened to you during the day.

As I began reading this book and March just about to start, I decided to try this 28-day journey starting March 1. I won’t go into the details of each day but wanted to share my initial journey of the last few days, DREAMS and GRATITUDE.

At the beginning of the book, before you start the journey, it asks you to make a list of your DREAMS however small or large they maybe with as much detail as you’d like. It suggests the following dream topics: Health and Body, Career and Work, Money, Relationships, Personal Desires and Material Things. Dreams have always been a thought or passing comment but I’ve never actually wrote them down.  I must admit I felt guilty writing some of the material items down as really I have everything I need except maybe a Vitamix and a VW Van to go camping..:o) This was a great process to go through and it will be even better when I cross one of my dreams off my list, as being done.

With my dreams written down, I started Day 1: Write down 10 things that you’re grateful for everyday for the next 28 days. After you write the 10 GRATITUDE items, reread them and say thank-you, thank-you, thank-you, after each one. I am now on DAY 5.  I’ve repeated some of the gratitude items as I am super thankful for those particular ones but I must say this initial start has me noticing more of the little things during the day and appreciate what I already have. I even just noticed this ladies crazy laugh to the left of me which made me smile and the incredible blue sky this morning as I was walking my dog. I guess the point is to take note of the beautiful things that surround you as you go about your day and be thankful for what is right in front of you.

I believe practicing being grateful definitely got to be a POSITIVE move in the right direction to mental peace and happiness…:o)

One Quiet Gals Journey xoxox

P.S. I’ll let you know if I actually complete my 28 day journey!!!

This entry was posted in being thankful, blessings, dreams, gratitude, inspiration, mental health, positive, recovering from depression and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Practicing Gratitude

  1. lifegoeson14 says:

    I have just started to write down 3 things every night that made me happy or thankful during the day as I have been suffering with depression and anxiety for as long as I can remember and have had a few tough years .I not sure how long this will last but hopefully long enough to make a difference ..good luck with your journey x

    Like

    • Lori Veinot says:

      Hi, Thanks for your comment. I’m now on day 11 of this gratitude journal and it’s been going well. Writing 10 each day can be challenging. It certainly makes you look for the little things. When I was in the depths of depression I found this super hard. All I can say is don’t be hard on yourself if you miss a day or two. Whenever you think of it write something down. Even a smile from someone is something to be thankful for. Take care and good luck on your journey. xox

      Liked by 1 person

      • lifegoeson14 says:

        hi , I have to be honest I did a few days and then I found it really hard to find 3 positive things in a day but I have been feeling quite low I am going to start this back up today and hopefully I will start feeling more positive ..Thanks for reply an take care too x

        Like

Leave a Reply

